Whole board seki game 2

In our previous post – Whole board seki game 1 – we showed a game which ended with seki positions all over the board.

Today we’d like to share its sister game and some background information with you, thanks to tchan001.

Two ancient Chinese games from the Ming dynasty

The games are from an ancient Chinese Go book from the Ming Dynasty (China, 1368-1644 AD) called 万汇仙机 (wàn huì xiān jī). This roughly translates to “Innumerable Opportunities from the Immortals”.

The name of the game record is 奕夺先天图 (yì duó xiān tiān tú) – if any readers are good with classical Chinese, please let us know what the translation of this is.

The diagonal star points opening,  with four stones starting on the star points, is typical of Chinese weiqi during this era. During this period, a game of Go was usually setup with the four stones already in position like this and white would then play first.

Once again, we hope you enjoy this beautiful game. Let us know what you think!

The game record


Download SGF File (Go Game Record)


Related Articles

About David Ormerod

David is a Go enthusiast who’s played the game for more than a decade. He likes learning, teaching, playing and writing about the game Go. He's taught thousands of people to play Go, both online and in person at schools, public Go demonstrations and Go clubs. David is a 5 dan amateur Go player who competed in the World Amateur Go Championships prior to starting Go Game Guru. He's also the editor of Go Game Guru.

You can follow Go Game Guru on Facebook, Twitter, Google+ and Youtube.


  1. This is great! I also saw the first whole board seki that you posted. Thanks!

  2. Mark Boon says:

    Who won? :)

    • David Ormerod says:

      Good question Mark :). If we assume there was no komi (because it hadn’t been invented yet) and use Chinese counting, then I think black won on eyes and captured stones. But it depends on what rules were being used at the time of this game.

      What do you think?

  3. b+3 using chinese counting

  4. B+3?
    I’m only a kyu player, but if W have 5 captures and B have 4 with no territory points and no komi, and W played the last stone, seems to me that’s W+1: W have one more stone on the board than B.
    Where I am wrong?

    • David Ormerod says:

      Did you count that black’s captured the two stones at L1? Also, black hasn’t played at T13 yet, but that’s a point with Chinese counting.

      If they were using group tax at the time, the score could be different. Black has one more group than white.

      • If Black plays T13 then white would respond with T11 and blacks whole group dies, T13 would ruin the seki and can not be played…

  5. According my experience, I think it is a draw. most of chinese ancient game is draw. after counting carefully , I confirm the result is draw.

    white:179.5 black 181.5
    According to chinese ancient rule: black has to adjust it result to 180.5 because black has one more group than white.

  6. Chinese Rule:
    White: 179.50 = 169 (Points) + 21 (Shared) / 2 + 0.0 (Komi) / 2
    Black: 181.50 = 171 (Points) + 21 (Shared) / 2 – 0.0 (Komi) / 2
    adjustment: 181.50-1=180.50

    Japanese Rule:
    White: 10.0 = 5 (Territory) + 5 (Black’s Dead) + 0.0 (Komi)
    Black: 13 = 9 (Territory) + 4 (White’s Dead)
    B + 3.0

Speak your mind