Bailing Cup

The Bailing Cup is a biennial international Go tournament (not to be confused with a now defunct Chinese women's tournament of the same name), which started in 2012.
It's sponsored by the Guizhou Bailing Pharmaceutical Group.
The winner receives 1.8 million RMB and the runner up receives 600,000 RMB. This puts the tournament in the same league as the Samsung Cup in terms of prize money.
The format is a straight knockout of 64 players, with the final played as a best of five match.

Ke Jie wins his first world title at the 2nd Bailing Cup

Ke Jie defeated Qiu Jun to win the 2nd Bailing Cup final, and become a new world champion, on January 14, 2014. The first two games of the final were held on November 27 and 29 in Hefei, Anhui, China. Ke Jie won game 1, but Qiu won game 2 by half a point to tie the score at 1-1…

Zhou Ruiyang wins 1st Bailing Cup with 3 hit combo

The first few weeks of 2013 saw the end of the 1st Bailing Cup, as Zhou Ruiyang defeated Chen Yaoye 3-0 to win the final – and his first international title – on January 19. When we last checked in on the Bailing Cup, you could have been forgiven for thinking that it was just another domestic Chinese tournament…

Go Commentary: Lee Sedol vs Jiang Weijie – 1st Bailing Cup

This game was played in the 2nd round of the 1st Bailing Cup, between Lee Sedol and Jiang Weijie. This is their first game together. Lee Sedol is currently ranked number two in Korea, and Jiang Weijie is ranked number four in China.

Go Commentary: Xie Erhao vs Li Kang – 1st Bailing Cup

This game is from the quarter finals of the 1st Bailing Cup. It’s between Li Kang and Xie Erhao. Xie Erhao was born in 1998, and became a pro in 2011. This is Xie’s first international tournament, but he already beat Yamashita Keigo from Japan and Kim Hyunchan from Korea before this game.

13 year old Xie Erhao youngest semifinalist at 1st Bailing Cup

On August 23, 2012, as the inaugural Bailing Cup names its semifinalists, China has already started celebrating with a guaranteed all China final. Park Junghwan, Korea’s last man standing, fell to one China’s highest rated players, Zhou Ruiyang. The other three semifinalists are…