MLily Cup

The MLily Cup is a biennial international Go tournament, which started in 2013 and is sponsored by MLily Meng Baihe – a mattress and bedding company.
It’s intended that it will alternate with the (also biennial) Bailing Cup, every other year.
The draw consists of 16 seeded players from China, Korea, Japan and Taiwan and 48 players from preliminary rounds, including 4 women and 4 amateurs.
Each player receives 2 hours thinking time and 5 x 1 minute byo-yomi. The main time is increased to 3 hours each for the final. The semifinals are played as best of three matches and the final is a best of five match.
The winner receives 1.8 million RMB (about $290,000 USD at the time of writing) and the runner up receives 600,000 RMB. This puts the tournament in the same league as the Bailing Cup and Samsung Cup, in terms of prize money.
The official name, ‘MLily Meng Baihe Cup World Go Open Tournament’ (try saying that 10 times) uses the sponsor’s double barrel English and Chinese names.
The Chinese name, 梦百合 Meng (=dream) Baihe (=lilies), translates literally to ‘dream of lilies’. A looser, but more natural translation would be something like ‘sweet dreams’. This explains the somewhat cryptic ‘MLily’ moniker.

Go Commentary: Ke Jie vs Lee Sedol – 2nd MLily Cup Final, Game 5

This game is from the 2nd MLily Cup final, the title deciding match. It was played between Ke Jie 9p and Lee Sedol 9p on January 5, 2016, in Jiangsu, China. Ke Jie won the 2nd Bailing Cup by defeating Qiu Jun 9p in early 2015, and he won the 2015 Samsung Cup by overwhelming Shi Yue 9p at the end of 2015.

Ke Jie defeats Lee Sedol to win the 2nd MLily Cup

Ke Jie kicked off 2016 with a bang by winning the 2nd MLily Cup, 3-2, against Lee Sedol 9p on January 5. The first two games of the final were played in Nantong, Jiangsu Province and the last three took place in Rugao, Jiangsu Province…

Lee Sedol to face Ke Jie in the 2nd MLily Cup final

Lee Sedol 9p to face Ke Jie 9p in the final of the 2nd MLily Cup. The semifinals of the 2nd MLily Cup were played on November 22 to 25, 2015, in Hefei, China. Lee Sedol 9p was faced to Ahn Seongjun 6p, and Ke Jie 9p was played against Park Younghun 9p.

Go Commentary: Zhou Ruiyang vs Park Junghwan – 2nd MLily Cup

This game is from the 2nd MLily Cup, round of 16. It was played by Zhou Ruiyang 9p and Park Junghwan 9p on August 30, 2015, in Guangzhou, China…

Go Commentary: Tang Weixing vs Lee Sedol – 2nd MLily Cup

This game is from the quarter finals of the 2nd MLily Cup. It was played by Tang Weixing 9p and Lee Sedol 9p on September 1, 2015, in Guangzhou, China. Lee lost the 2013 Samsung Cup to Tang Weixing, so this was his opportunity for reprisal. This was only their 3rd game together…

Korean pros dominate 2nd MLily Cup – Round of 16 and quarter final wrap up

The round of 16 and the quarter finals of the 2nd MLily Cup took place on August 30 and September 1, 2015, in Guangzhou, China. It was a showdown between China and Korea, with Japanese and Taiwanese players eliminated in earlier rounds…

Go Commentary: Mi Yuting vs Gu Li – 1st MLily Cup

This is game 2 from the 1st MLily Cup final. The game was played between Gu Li 9p and Mi Yuting 4p on December 2, 2013, in Jiangsu, China. Gu Li won game 1 of the final…

An Jungki turns pro at the 2nd MLily Cup

The main tournament of the 2nd MLily Cup began in Beijing this week. An Jungki defeated Hu Yuqing and achieved the 100 points necessary to qualify as a pro in Korea!

An Younggil’s Pro Go Videos: Liu Xing vs Lee Donghoon – 2nd MLily Cup

Today I’m going to show you a game played between Liu Xing 7p and Lee Donghoon 5p in the final round of the 2nd MLily Cup preliminaries. Liu Xing is well known for his unique and creative style of play. Lee Donghoon is a rising star in Korea…

Mi Yuting wins his first world championship – 1st MLily Cup

On December 6, 2013, the 1st MLily Cup saw the crowning of a new world Champion and China’s newest 9 dan, Mi Yuting. Mi certainly had his work cut out for him on his journey towards this breakthrough win. He defeated Lee Sedol, Kang Dongyun, Kong Jie, Dang Yifei and Wang Xi to earn his place in the final…