30 of the world’s best Go players 2011-2012

Recently Dr Bai Taeil announced an updated World Go Ranking for the top 30 Go players in the world. As you’ll see, Chinese players have improved their standing relative to the 2010 World Go Ranking. As a result, even though numbers 1 and 2 are Lee Sedol and Park Junghwan, numbers 3 to 10 are all Chinese players.

Go Commentary: Dang Yifei vs Park Younghun – 4th BC Card Cup

This is a game between Park Younghun and Dang Yifei from the quarter finals of the 4th BC Card Cup. Park Younghun’s ranked number 3 in Korea. On the other hand, Dang Yifei is a new face. He was ranked number 54 in China before this tournament, but he beat Lee Sedol and Tan Xiao before this game. Lee and Tan are number one in Korea and China respectively.

Lee Sedol wins 17th GS Caltex Cup

Lee Sedol defeated Park Younghun in the 5th and deciding game of the 17th GS Caltex Cup finals, on May 6, 2012. Lee won the first game on April 25, but Park responded by winning games 2 and 3 on April 30 and May 1, making Lee’s fans nervous…

4th BC Card Cup: Down to the final four

On April 16 and 17, 2012, the quarter finals of the 4th BC Card Cup were played at TV studios in Seoul, Korea. When we last checked on this tournament’s progress China was dominating the draw, claiming 13 spots in the round of 16. Now only four players remain…

China on a roll in 4th BC Card Cup

The 4th BC Card Cup has now reached the round of 32. This year’s tournament has been full of upsets with favorites falling left and right in the early rounds. Here’s how things stand as of March 20, 2012…

Park Younghun wins 39th Myeongin

On December 8, 2011, Park Younghun (9p) won his third game in the 39th Myeongin final, successfully defeating Baek Hongseok (8p) 3-1 and taking the title for another year. The end of the 39th Myeongin tournament also marks the end of our 2011 Three Meijins series of reports.

Jiang Weijie wins 24th Mingren

While Japan has already crowned its Meijin for 2011, the 39th Myeongin continues and 24th Mingren concluded this week, with Jiang Weijie (5p) defeating Kong Jie (9p) in five games. Here’s where things stand as of December 1, 2011.

Yamashita Keigo wins 36th Meijin

Yamashita Keigo defeated Iyama Yuta to win the 36th Meijin title on October 28, 2011. Yamashita, who was the challenger, took the title from Iyama in 6 games, winning the series 4-2. Iyama Yuta first won the title from Cho U in 2009 and defended it against Takao Shinji in 2010. However, he couldn’t stop Yamashita Keigo, who now holds the Japanese Meijin and Honinbo titles simultaneously.

4 players left standing in the 16th Samsung Cup

On October 5th, 2011, the 16th Samsung Cup reached the quarter finals. Of the hundreds of players who started this tournament only four remain standing. Representing China, we have Chen Yaoye and Gu Li. Meanwhile, Korea’s still fielding Won Seongjin and 16 year old 1 dan, Na Hyun. The quarter final featured some exciting pairings and the resulting games didn’t disappoint. See all the results and games from today and tell us who you think will win the tournament!

16th Samsung Cup: Kong Jie, Gu Li knock out Lee Sedol, Lee Changho

The round of 16 in the 16th Samsung Cup concluded today, with two highly anticipated games. In one corner, Korea’s Lee Sedol and Lee Changho stood ready to do battle. In the other corner China’s Kong Jie and Gu Li were ready to rumble. Unfortunately for Korea, China came out 2-0. Meanwhile Kim Jiseok, Lee Younggu, Chen Yaoye, Na Hyun, Won Seongjin and Park Younghun also made it through to the quarter finals.