Zhaoshang Cup

The Zhaoshang Cup is an annual team tournament between China and Korea, which started in 2011. Each country sends a team to play a multi-board match, with two games each over two days.
For the first three years of tournament, there were five boards. In 2014, the number of boards increased to seven.
The time limit for games in the Zhaoshang Cup is 2 hours and 45 minutes, with 5 x 1 minute byo-yomi for each player.
The prize money for the winning team is 1,000,000 RMB. The losing team receives 500,000 RMB.

Don’t miss Lee Sedol vs Gu Li this weekend – Plus, weekly Go wrap up

One more quick update before we send out the weekly newsletter. Don’t forget that game 3 of the Lee Sedol – Gu Li Jubango is on this weekend. Join Go Game Guru’s An Younggil 8p and discuss the game with him while watching Baduk TV Live…

Korea wins 4th Zhaoshang Cup by a whisker

The 4th Zhaoshang Cup was played on March 21 and 23, 2014, in Hangzhou, China. Teams China and Korea competed in a seven board team tournament of the top players from the two countries. Round 1 was held on March 21 and Team Korea won 4-3 against Team China…